The $2 trillion relief bill will send money directly to Americans, greatly expand unemployment coverage and make a number of other changes. This includes contract workers and self-employed; which includes most tattoo artists.
The money is being distributed from the federal government to each state and the state will distribute through their individual unemployment program. So, each state has a different application. We are working to add more states as the information is requested. If your state is not here email us at firstname.lastname@example.org and we will add your states info as soon as we can.
As part of the federal CARES Act, the federal government has approved funding for additional UI benefits to workers impacted by COVID 19, including the self-employed.
Federal funds are available to get you back to work quickly, including supportive services for basic needs, such as housing, child care, and transportation costs. For more information, visit COVID-19 Additional Funds for Workers and Businesses.
The state of California announced today that an application specifically for the Pandemic Unemployment Insurance will be made available on April 28, 2020. You will be able to certify your claim and get paid within 48 hours, so, the first payments are set to be disturbed on April 30, 2020.
You will get retroactive payments of $600 per week as far back as the first week of February depending when you were first affected by the pandemic.
You may have already applied and received an award of $0 and also received a continued claim form. If so, you will still have to wait and reapply on April 28 but you can use the same account you created to apply at that time.
CLICK HERE to apply (LINK WILL BE UPDATED ON APRIL 28)
New York has a separate application for Covid-19 related unemployment BUT you must first apply for regular unemployment, get denied, then submit the Covid-19 application.
You must first create a NY.GOV ID, here is the link: CLICK HERE to create an account.
Once you create an account you will be able to submit an unemployment claim. CLICK HERE to file.
You can only file on certain days based on the first letter of your last name:
A - F file on Monday | G - N file on Tuesday | O - Z file on Wednesday
Missed your day? File on Thurs-Fri-Sat.
The system is available to apply online from:
12AM on Sunday-6pm on Friday
CLICK HERE to apply.
Since the on-line application process has not yet been updated, here is some important information regarding some of the questions on the application.
When it asks if you are willing to seek work, answer YES. (This means you are willing to seek work once the state of emergency has ended. )
Are you willing to work full or part time, answer YES.
(This means you are willing to work once the state of emergency has ended. )
All days and hours normal for that type of work, answer YES.
Any reason you cannot work, answer NO.
Be sure to put all employers, even if they were out of state.
On the Certification Page it does not include changes for COVID-19 state of emergency, so it may appear that you do not qualify; continue the application.
Be sure to click I AGREE box before submitting.
Save your CONFIRMATION #, it will not be emailed to you.
You can still do weekly claim reports starting the Sunday after you apply. This will ensure you receive benefits beginning the day you completed your application.
CLICK HERE to apply.
Same as with every state right now, systems are not set up for accepting applications for contract workers and self-employed. If it appears that you are not eligible, still complete the application. Getting in the systems as soon as possible will get you back pay starting from the first week after you apply.
You Will Need:
Your shop’s business name and address
First and last dates (month, day and year) you worked for your last employer. Even if you plan on returning to the shop after the state of emergency is over, put the last day you worked.
Number of hours worked and pay rate if you worked this week (including Sunday)
Information related to your normal wage (how much you made per week tattooing)
Alien Registration Number (if not a U.S. citizen or national)
Before you apply you have to sign up for a Texas User ID. CLICK HERE to sign up.
Once you have a User ID, you can file. CLICK HERE to apply.
According to the state of Texas there are times when the website has been down due to so many people trying to apply. The best times to go online and apply are from 10:00pm to 8:00am. Which is normal business hours for most of us :)